The ICD-10 criteria for diagnosing a depressive episode (F32) and recurrent depressive disorder (F33) are as follows:

F32 – Depressive Episode: A depressive episode is characterized by a period of at least two weeks during which there is a depressed mood or loss of interest or pleasure in nearly all activities. To meet the criteria for a depressive episode, the individual must experience at least four additional symptoms from the following list:
  • Significant weight loss or weight gain, or a decrease or increase in appetite.
  • Insomnia or hypersomnia (excessive sleepiness).
  • Psychomotor agitation or retardation (observable physical restlessness or slowness).
  • Fatigue or loss of energy.
  • Feelings of worthlessness or excessive guilt.
  • Diminished ability to concentrate or make decisions.
  • Recurrent thoughts of death or suicidal ideation, with or without a specific plan.
These symptoms must cause clinically significant distress or impairment in social, occupational, or other important areas of functioning.
F33 – Recurrent Depressive Disorder: To meet the criteria for recurrent depressive disorder, an individual must have experienced at least two or more depressive episodes separated by periods of at least two months during which they were not experiencing significant depressive symptoms. The symptoms and criteria for each depressive episode within the recurrent depressive disorder would follow the criteria for a depressive episode as outlined above.
It’s important to note that the ICD-10 criteria provide a standardized framework for diagnosing depression. However, a formal diagnosis should be made by a qualified healthcare professional based on a comprehensive assessment, taking into account the individual’s symptoms, history, and overall clinical presentation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *